Schubert

He´s certainly highly regarded, but…

…perhaps not as much as others.

In my view, Schubert is absolutely in the top, right up there with all the greats.

Sure, his Unfinished Symphony, Impromtus, Serenade, and others are among the standard classical repertoire. But also, most people wouldn´t put him in their top composers list, if they have one.

Let me tell you why I think Schubert, or his music rather (which of course is inseperable fromthe man) is so special to me:

His music speaks about the soul, and its eternal yearning for peace.

In his music, sometimes peace is not found, but the search is still there. Even in the most dramatic works, such as the second movement of his final piano Sonata in B-flat Major, that immortal work that seems to fight between heaven and hell, only for heaven to prevail at the end. Oh and in what way does it prevail… the ending of that movement is one of the most touching resolutions in all of Western music. Peace has been found.

There is a reason though that some pieces are “hits”. And this happens with the work I´ve recorded and uploaded today, Schubert´s mega-hit.

If you know anything about classical music, you know which one I´m talking about.

Ok, ok, I´ll reveal it below, so:

It´s strange that this piece is one of the most-heard pieces of music in the world (especially if you´ve ever been to a wedding), but, no matter how many times I´ve heard it, it´s just so perfect and beautiful that it´s impossible not to be touched by it. It´s a true masterpiece.

I hope you enjoy it.

Have a nice day,

Claudio.