Salt

As I opened the glass door, the calm sea breeze greeted me as I walked through it, filling my heart with its salty essence.

Tranquility.

05:50 a.m., the sun is rising.

I spot silhouettes of tiny fishing ships coming to shore. Since when have they been out there in the dark? How many fish have they caught?

The croakers and soles are especially delicious around here.

I start jogging gently. I can almost feel the salt in my lungs.

It’s been a while since I felt such a strong scent from the sea.

After all, I haven’t been on a beach on the Pacific coast in my country possibly for decades.

I cross a few people on my route. Some are fishermen, some are walking their dogs early, others are cleaning up the beach. They greet me with a gentle “good morning” as I pass them.

You can feel the difference in pace with the megapolis just 40 kilometers to the north.

This weekend my family and I spent a couple of days south of Lima, Perú. I was a child the last time I came around here.

50 minutes later I arrive back at the apartment and now I’m ready to begin a new day with my daughter having extreme fun with that one thing that I greatly miss back where I live in Madrid: the sea.

Have a nice day.

Claudio.