Ravel

When I think of Maurice Ravel, many things come to mind.

Of course, he was one of the greatest musicians that ever lived, but that´s not enough information. How could we ever figure out the complex intricacies of a mind and personality just because of his or her output to the world?

Surely, this tells us something very important and relevant about them.

But I´ve found for myself that the deepest question that comes to my mind is always: why?

Why did he do what he did? What did he try to accomplish? Did he feel he accomplished it? And if he did, what came after that?

My thoughts somehow always go to what I believe is the core of it all: the meaning of existence.

Even when I practice a piece of music or when I write a letter, the thought of why are we doing this, or anything at all, is ever-present.

It´s both beautiful and dreadful at once.

Dreadufl, because there´s always the chance that whatever we´re doing doesn´t mean anything at all in the long run, leaving us as idle standby figures in the vast order of the cosmos.

But beautiful, because no matter how insignificant we keep proving that we are in this universal order, we go out of our way to improve, study, learn, create, appreciate beauty, and love.

Perhaps it´s love that is at the core, not always perceivable but always there and ready to reveal our true nature to ourselves.

And, perhaps it´s love that motivated Ravel to compose music so beautifully that it makes my heart pound in excitement.

Yesterday, the 7th of March, marked the birth anniversary of Maurice Ravel.

In my Classical playlist, I´m featuring today two of the most beautiful works of music that have ever been conceived by a human being: The 2nd movement from the Concerto in G Major, and the Pavane. Both written by Maurice Ravel.

Access the playlist by clicking here, it´s the first two tracks.

Enjoy, and have a great day.

Claudio.