Piazzolla

He would´ve been 103 years old today.

He´s the reason I play bandoneon. I discovered an album of his at home (it belonged to my parents). I was about 14 years old.

It blew my mind.

I had never heard something quite like that before. The instrument, the music, the ensemble. It was astounding.

Ever since, I had the dream of playing bandoneon.

Many years later, while I was living in Finland and finishing my piano studies at the conservatory, I made up my mind.

I worked extra hours, sold a few things, took a personal loan, and bought a bandoneon. I was blindly buying it from a seller in Buenos Aires, Argentina. Luckily, the instrument was in good condition when it arrived in Finland even after traveling for 13,000 kilometers.

I was 20 years old.

Now, 20 years later, I believe it was one of the most important decisions in my life. It literally changed it, for good.

And Piazzolla was always there, with his music and inspiration. I still believe he composed some of the most beautiful music ever written.

Here is my latest Piazzolla performance video, playing two of his most beloved works. Click here to watch it.

Enjoy, and have a great day!

Claudio.