Peace

Recently I´ve been away from home very much. Something that if you´ve been following me for a while, you know is not easy for me.

I love being at home and feeling that I´m available at all times for my family, and when I’m touring abroad I often feel very lonely.

Of course, it´s always compensated when I hit the stage. For a few moments, I connect with something superior, call it whatever you like, and I feel a deep connection with myself which translates into the performance. It gives me so much energy that it makes me keep on wanting to repeat it.

And also, there are times in which the trip brings in some unexpected surprises.

For instance, I usually play by myself (therefore the loneliness). But now and then, I get to perform with a small group of people or an ensemble.

When I perform with symphony orchestras it’s different because there are so many people involved in it that you don´t usually connect with anyone except the conductor.

But when you play music with a small group of people, the interaction with each musician is much greater.

And every now and then, you get to meet great people.

On one of these trips from the past month, I got to perform with an ensemble led by one particularly inspiring musician. Not so much for her playing, which was also fantastic, but for her energy. There was no stress at all, no worries, just joyful music-making.

No egos. No problems. No superficiality.

Just plain being oneself, making a true connection with others by acknowledging and appreciating them, and enjoying the music.

As a professional concert artist who has been active on stage for the past 20 years, I can assure you this is uncommon.

After all, being a soloist makes you deal with a great amount of pressure and expectations. These can create great emotional stress and unbalance.

People who can keep their balance in this tricky way of living are true heroes.

Today, I want to acknowledge all people who try their best to live in the present and make things easy for themselves and others, bringing true joy to the world.

Have a nice day,

Claudio.