Overproducing actually works

Over-producing… why not?

I´m an overproducer. Otherwise, I wouldn´t be able to send out a daily newsletter on top of composing, practicing, playing concerts, creating daily content on the internet, co-creating and managing an artist project with my wife, and being a loving father and husband.

If I wanted to, I could release one song every day for the next year without even having to produce any more: I´ve already got them recorded and mastered.

But part of overproducing is seeing what works well and what doesn´t . I have to keep an eye on that because I want to release not only my very best but also something that people will want to listen to and enjoy.

Those two don´t necessarily match.

And there is where many artists are mistaken. They think that because they like it, everybody else will like it.

It turns out that it doens´t work that way. It´s not up to the artist to decide what will be great or not.

It´s up to the ones who see and consume your work.

You might say you make the best homemade pizza in the world. But what happens when your guests say it´s “good” with a half-smile on their face pretending they like it?

Anyway, today I released a new piece of music. Last week I posted only a fraction of it on Instagram and I got dozens of requests to listen to the whole piece and to buy the sheet music. This makes me believe that at least some people have really enjoyed it and so I decided to just spontaneously release the whole thing.

You can listen to it here: Valse des Adieux.

I don´t say it´s great, or even nice. Perhaps it´s awful. Whatever the case, it´s not for me to decide, but up to you.

Have a great day.

Claudio.