Music for a Spring Allergy

There are two kinds of people: Those who have allergies and those who don’t.

I belong, unfortunately, to the first kind.

The beauty of spring is bittersweet for me. I love the smell of flowers, but smelling them makes me choke and grasp for air.

But no matter how badly spring affects my health, I can’t blame the reproduction of flora on my torments.

This got me thinking about how we constantly complain about things that are out of our control. Spring certainly doesn’t give a damn if I complain or not.

Spring will keep on doing its thing.

I can only adapt and live with it.

In a parallel story, Astor Piazzolla had his whole country against him when he tried changing, or rather improving, tango music.

But that didn’t stop him. It was certainly an inconvenience to get death threats for trying to do something that for him was natural.

But despite this, he didn’t let external factors dictate how he would live his life.

Factors that he could not control.

True, some people have to deal with extreme situations.

But then again, so what? Nature keeps going its own way.

And ultimately it’s up to us to decide whether to overcome our disgraces or to succumb and die.

A profound reflection, coming from spring allegry…

Now let’s connect Piazzolla + Spring, and we get…

Primavera Porteña.

In English: Spring in Buenos Aires.

One of his masterpieces. I love this piece and arranged it for piano solo, it almost got me a Latin Grammy in 2019 for Best Classical Album, for which I was nominated.

You can see a video of me playing it right here: PRIMAVERA PORTEÑA ←

I wish you a nice spring or what is left of it, and hope you don’t suffer as badly as I do :)

Yours,

Claudio.