Inevitable

After hearing some compliments from Victor Segalen, he said: “You say this because you don´t know me.”

“I know some irrefutable facts about you,” answered Segalen.

-” Yes, but not my defects. Everything in me is instinctive. I am no master. And, besides, there are moments in which I can’t get anything done, as if I were facing a wall, asking myself if I´ll ever be able to get through it.”

The human condition escapes no one.

Not even Claude Debussy, the person on the other end of this conversation.

We´re talking here about one of the greatest musical and artistic geniuses of the 20th Century (and of all time if you ask me).

But geniuses are human, no matter how genius they are.

And thus, they can´t escape the intricate laws that govern us, which is something that both disturbs and comforts me.

Disturbs because there are some hurdles that we can´t seem to ever overcome, no matter how high a level of consciousness we achieve.

And comforting because, after all, we´re in this together.

Have a great day.

Claudio.

The piano playlist (with some of Debussy´s music).