Grieg

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.”

I adore the music of Edvard Grieg, a Norwegian composer born in 1843.

He is the author of that quote.

But most importantly, he´s the author of what seems to me some of the most melodically inspired music I´ve heard.

There has seemed to be a bias with his music from some professional musicians, since they sometimes deem it too “simple.” I sincerely cannot understand that claim.

Music doesn´t have to be over-complicated to be masterful.

And frankly, I would never label his music as simple.

Grieg was a highly accomplished musician and a master of musical architecture. That´s why his works, be them his piano miniatures or his large-scale works, always seem to be in perfect balance and are a pure joy to listen to.

To mark his 181st birthday, I´ve included four of his Lyric Pieces on my piano playlist today, performed by one of my favorite pianists: Emil Gilels. Listen to it here.

Enjoy, and have a great day!

Claudio.