Going to the Studio

Today I´m going to record an album. Not my own project but someone else´s project, a violinist who invited me as a guest artist on her upcoming CD.

I´ve been recording for decades, and I love it. I record daily at home since I have my own home studio setup.

And there´s a secret to it that I want to share with you. Something that many musicians themselves don´t realize often.

Usually, the very first take is the best one.

Even if you´ve made some mistakes, you can always edit and clean them up.

Now, typically, my recordings will include cut-outs of the best parts which will then be “glued” together on post-production.

And 9 out of 10 times, just as I said, the very first take is the best one. It´s usually fresher, more inspired, less thought out. Coming from your original conception. From your soul.

Afterwards, you start to think more. You intellectualize (is that even a word?) the process and subsequent takes.

Maybe we should learn to trust our first instincts a little bit more.

Have a great day,

Claudio.

P.D. I get asked this a lot: The sheet music (scores) of most of my newer releases are available for purchase on this site.