It´s out, finally

It took a week longer than expected, but that´s a short time I guess.

It does throw my schedule a bit out of place though, I plan these things out very tightly.

But it´s ok, I´ve rescheduled all the next releases too.

Some background:

My instrument, the bandoneon, was invented somewhere before the mid-19th century. It didn´t become really popular until it was adopted by Tango music in Argentina right before the turn of the 20th century.

This means that, unfortunately, there hasn´t been much repertoire for it outside of tango music.

Therefore, one of the things I do as a composer is to write all sorts of music for it. From melancholic French waltzes to contemporary (bordering on non-sensical) pieces of music.

And recently, I´ve created a series of Études for my instrument, in a post-romantic idiom. For those of you who don´t know (no fault on that), an Étude is a piece of music that usually focuses on one or more technical challenges for the player. Études were a popular form of music since the classical period and were taken to their maximum artistic expression in the Romantic period, especially with Chopin and Liszt, but with other notable contributions to the form by Schumann, Brahms, Mendelssohn, and later Rachmaninoff, Debussy, Scriabin, etc.

There are almost no Etudes for bandoneon. So I´ve composed 14 of them. They will be part of my new album, coming out in May. I was very inspired while composing them, and I hope you enjoy them.

Today I´ve released the first single of this album, Etude nr.6.

Have a great day.

Claudio.