Fighting for survival

Yesterday, while I watched my 5-year-old daughter play with her friends at the park after school, I started thinking and my thoughts led me toward one of those deep existential loopholes that sometimes invade my mind.

I thought that perhaps the reason we strive to survive, is simply the fighting instinct inside of us.

Millions of years ago, when the first cells somehow popped into our world, they had everything against them. The only way for them to survive was to fight for their existence.

Some of them fought strong enough to survive.

Fast forward to millions of years later and here I am, writing an e-mail to all of you.

If ultimately all the human race, all the planets, our sun, our galaxy, and everything is destined to fade away and die, explode, implode, or whatever ultimately happens to everything… then, what is really the point of us striving to be better people?

Perhaps it’s just the fighting instinct, disguised as motivation, discipline, love, empathy, and all other things that we as humans experience.

What conclusions can I get from these random thoughts?

For one, not to take myself too seriously.

And also, to enjoy life. As much as I can, while I can.

I like music, and I enjoy making music. And sharing music.

That´s my way of fighting for survival.

Have a great day,

Claudio.

P.D. My bandoneon playlist, updated every once in a while. Here it is.