...dreamland

Ever since I became a father, my life completely changed.

I bet I´m the first person you´ve ever heard this from… ;)

Clichés aside, there are several things that I look at differently in the world, and that have altered my behavior ever since my daughter came into our lives.

For example, I wasn´t scared of flying before. Now, I get a bit nervous whenever I get on a plane…

I can´t watch any movie or video footage in which there´s any sort of tragedy happening to a child.

Whenever I walk past a playground, I attentively watch the children playing, which inevitably puts a smile on my face.

And just as so many things changed, it has influenced my music as well.

I used to compose very grandiose, complex works of music. You need lots of preparation and intense years of study to comprehend music in a way that you could write such works.

But I´m not at all like that now. I rejoice in simplicity. I believe that making a great work of art can be equally difficult no matter if its very complex or if its very simple.

Take Brahms´ lullaby, probably the most famous lullaby in the world. It´s so simple, yet so masterful! I´m sure most people know his lullaby but much fewer could endure listening to his symphonies.

(personal note: Brahms´ symphonies are probably the greatest works of music ever written…).

I´ve just released the 4th (maybe final?) volume of Pocket Piano.

Three pieces which have remained in my musical drawer for some time.

Three simple pieces that come from that dreamland that is only accessible to those who have not lost their connection with children.

You don´t need to have any children for that, you simply have to look inside and find your true self, for each one of us is no more than a grown-up child.

Have a. great day,

Claudio.