My Christmases

When I was a child, Christmases were extra special because of one person:

My grandfather.

I don´t know if he actually loved Christmas himself that much or if he just wanted to put an effort into making it extra special for everyone.

Or both.

The ambiance would be festive all day long, with music, food, snacks, and the favorite thing of any child: presents.

It was the tradition to have dinner somewhere around 10:00 p.m. and when the clock strikes 00:00, everyone hugs and kisses and wishes a Happy Christmas to each other.

And then the highlight comes: opening the presents.

My grandfather would sit down next to our Christmas tree and start reading the little cards on each present, making funny names for every person who received one. I would laugh at each one.

And when I got a present excitement ran through my veins.

My grandfather passed away when I was 10. Even if I was old enough not to believe in Santa anymore, Christmases still had been extra special with him around the last years. After he passed away, it was never the same again.

It´s amazing how one person can make so much difference.

It´s not that further Christmases were not enjoyable. On the contrary, everyone did their part so that they would be special.

Every Christmas I remember my grandfather and I cherish the memories I have with him. I was lucky enough to be able to enjoy him fully.

I wish you all a happy Christmas, hoping you´ll enjoy your time with your loved ones and remembering those you loved.

Claudio.

P.D. Here´s the most beautiful Christmas music (in my opinion), played on bandoneon. Click here to watch and listen.