The most beautiful music ever

If I had to point out the one thing that made music so important to me, it is this:

As a child, right before I´d go to sleep, my mother put some music on a cassette tape right on the side of my bed. I´d fall asleep listening to this music.

The thing is, they weren´t any regular lullabies.

My mom had prepared a mix tape with excerpts from magnificent classical works. These included mostly symphonic and piano works from Brahms and Beethoven. All of these have permanently remained among my favorite works of music, forever.

But also, there was also one piece from a lesser-known composer: Biedrich Smetana.

I know very few pieces that can match its beauty.

In fact, when I listen to it (as so happens when I listen to a few other masterworks), I can´t imagine that there can be anything more beautiful than this.

The piece I´m referring to is called Vltava, better known as the “Moldau.” It is from a series of symphonic poems called Ma Vlast that recreate scenes from the history and traditions of Bohemia.

On the 200th anniversary of Smetana´s birth, I´d like to share this work with you today.

You can listen to it as the first track on my Classical Music playlist. Click here.

Whenever I listen to it, I´m inevitably drawn back to fond memories of falling asleep in my bed as a child. No worries. Just cuddling, love, and breathtakingly beautiful music.

Enjoy, and have a great day!

Claudio.