Baroqued

300 years after the baroque era, we´re still fascinated by it.

If we look closely, we´re surrounded by its legacy. Be it in architecture, fashion, design, art, and of course, music.

And it amazes me how many people listen to it!

Bach and Vivaldi are among the most listened-to composers in the world at this moment.

By the way, did you know that the word baroque is thought to come from the Portuguese word barroco, which means “a pearl with an elaborate shape”?

I find it very fitting.

This year I intend to learn, record, and release many baroque works into the digital realms of Youtube, Instagram, Spotify, etc.

And I´ve started today with my very first long format video of 2024 with one of my favorite baroque masterpieces: Vivaldi´s Concerto for 2 violins in A minor.

Bach was a tremendous admirer of Vivaldi´s music, and as soon as he got the chance to analyze the scores of L´estro armonico, a set of 12 violin concertos composed by the Italian master, he was inspired to transcribe them as a set of solo organ pieces.

My own transcription for solo bandoneon relies heavily on Bach´s transcription. But of course, the original music is Vivaldi´s.

You can see me perform it by clicking here.

Enjoy!

Have a nice day,

Claudio.