Back and forth

“Life can only be understood backward, but it must be lived forwards.”

This quote by Kierkegaard suggests that by reflecting on the past, we are better informed to navigate the future with deeper understanding.

Time is a tricky concept. We don´t live in the past or the future. We live in the now, the present. But the present has just passed, it´s always slipping away from us. So in a way, we´re constantly being drawn towards the immediate past.

Is that why we can´t properly plan (much less foresee) what the future will bring for us?

Is that part of the reason why our thoughts force us to live in the past rather than the present?

Think about it. Everything you know about yourself is because of something that happened in the past.

But what if you had a clear vision of what you want for your future?

What if you decided to identify yourself with that image, rather than what you´ve been told you are up till now, or what you´ve thought of yourself?

Too often we label ourselves with limiting beliefs. “I´m too lazy”. “I´m not good enough.” “Nobody takes me seriously.” “I´m too dumb for that.” “I´m…” etc…

By reflecting on the past, we are better informed to navigate the future with deeper understanding…

Realizing this has been life-changing for me.

Have a great day.

Claudio.

P.D. - Speaking about the past, I´ve just released a new Baroque music performance. I love this piece, it makes me not only enjoy but also think. Listen to it here.