The Astrologist

An acquaintance of my father was an astrologist. Not to be confused with an astronomer.

Astronomers base their studies on research, observation, and scientific facts.

Astrologists believe in the positioning of objects in space (stars, planets, etc.) affecting the course of events on people on Earth.

This man, for some reason, made an astrological chart for my father and he pointed at some future happenings for his family members. One of his predictions strayed forever in my mind:

He predicted that I would have success in my career.

For me, at the time, that could mean just one thing: that I would someday become a good concert pianist. Becoming that was everything that I thought about at the time.

It didn´t even occur to me that someday I would also be playing another instrument, the bandoneon, nor that I would also be a composer.

What does having success in one´s career even mean?

The meaning of that is changing all the time for me. The last time was just a few days ago…

So, I´m not sure if he was right or not.

But one thing is for sure: there is no separation between my career, my work, and my personal life. They are all part of each other.

If I have success in one, it means I´m having “success” in all aspects of my life.

Therefore, the definition of success carries a very deep meaning to me and I don´t take it lightly.

I´m not even sure now that success is even an appropriate word to describe the positive outcome of one´s career or life since I firmly believe we should constantly be growing, improving, aiming at serving better.

Momentary success to me means nothing else other than that I´m right at the bottom of a new path toward a new growth point.

Having said that, I wish you all success in whatever you´re aiming for, and a happy weekend!

Claudio.

P.D. Today´s video pick is particularly beautiful in my opinion, watch it here.

P.D.D. I do all planning, recording (audio and video), mixing, editing, publishing, releasing myself. So I´m very happy whenever I´m satisfied with the result. It puts me right at the bottom again, searching for new ways to make it even better.